## ANNUAL TOWN MEETING APRIL 9, 2019

The Annual Town Meeting for Maine Township was called to order at 7:00 p.m. by Clerk Peter Gialamas. Clerk Gialamas welcomed everyone in attendance to the Maine Township 169<sup>th</sup> Annual Town meeting.

Clerk Gialamas asked everyone to rise and Park Ridge Boy Scouts Troop #1 presented the Colors and lead everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Clerk Gialamas announced that the purpose of the meeting was to inform the electorate of our Township's financial status and to act upon certain resolutions to be presented at the meeting.

Clerk Gialamas introduced Deputy Clerks Rosalind Luburich, Annette Galante, Cathy Fredericksen and Chief Deputy Clerk Wiesia Tytko. He stated these employees are responsible for making the Clerk's office operate so smoothly. Clerk Gialamas stated that he is proud to announce that in the fiscal year 2018-2019 his office processed 3,123 passport applications and 11,347 Cook County vehicle stickers. He thanked his staff added that once again it proves how hard his staff works on a daily basis.

Next Clerk Gialamas introduced Maine Township Elected Officials, starting with Trustees the Honorable: Kimberly Jones, David Carrabotta, Claire McKenzie and Susan Sweeney, Highway Commissioner, the Honorable Walter Kazmierczak, and Assessor, Honorable Susan Moylan Krey. Lastly, Clerk Gialamas introduced Maine Township Supervisor, Honorable Laura Morask. Clerk Gialamas welcomed guests: previous Collector Audrey Nankervis and Des Plaines Alderman Dick Sayad.

Clerk Gialamas recognized Trustee Jones for the purpose of making a nomination for a moderator.

Trustee Jones nominated Des Plaines Alderman Dick Sayad to serve as Moderator of the meeting. There were no other nominations. Mr. Wayne Serbin made a motion to approve the nomination and it was seconded by Supervisor Laura Morask. The motion was approved and passed by a show of hands with voting cards.

Clerk Gialamas administered the Oath of Moderator to Alderman Dick Sayad. Moderator Sayad stated that he is honored to be a part of this special meeting and he thanked Clerk Gialamas for being invited. Moderator Sayad appointed Maine Township Attorney Keri-Lyn Krafthefer as Parliamentarian. Supervisor Morask made a motion to approve the appointment and it was seconded by Trustee David Carrabotta.

Moderator Sayad asked Clerk Gialamas to present the minutes of the 2018 Annual Town Meeting for approval. Clerk Gialamas stated that the minutes were distributed earlier and requested that the minutes be approved and that the reading be waived. Assessor Moylan Krey made a motion to approve the 2018 Annual Town meeting minutes and it was seconded by Trustee Carrabotta. The motion to waive the reading and approve the minutes passed, by a show of hands with voting cards.

Moderator Sayad asked if there were any special town meetings held during the year.

Clerk Gialamas stated that there were eight special meetings in the 2018-2019 fiscal year.

Moderator Sayad asked Clerk Gialamas if the Annual Financial Reports for the General Town, General Assistance and Road & Bridge Funds were distributed prior to the Annual Town meeting.

Clerk Gialamas stated that the Annual Financial Reports were distributed before the Annual Town meeting and they are displayed in the hallway and available for reviewing.

Moderator Sayad asked Supervisor Morask to present her Annual Report and introduce the Maine Township staff. Supervisor Morask presented the Supervisor's Annual Report. (See attached).

Moderator Sayad asked Clerk Peter Gialamas to present the Sgt. Karen Lader Memorial Good Citizen Award. Clerk Gialamas announced that this year's recipient of the Sgt. Karen Lader Memorial Good Citizen Award is Maine Township's own Robert Brzezinski. Clerk Gialamas made a presentation and stated that it was his honor to present Mrs. Angela Brzezinski, the award in honor of her husband the late Robert Brzezinski and a former Maine Township Highway Director. Mrs. Brzezinski was accompanied by her daughter Alicia Brzezinski and Lt. Michael Goldsmith of the Cook County Sheriff's Police.

Moderator Sayad requested that Supervisor Morask present the resolutions for approval by the electors.

Supervisor Morask made a motion to withdraw presenting a Resolution 2019-2, establishing the township fiscal year since the fiscal year was already established for the Maine Township. The motion was seconded by Trustee Jones and it passed by a show of hands with voting cards.

Parliamentarian Keri-Lyn Krafthefer stated that the next resolutions numbers can be moved one number.

Supervisor Morask presented Resolution 2019-2 setting the next Annual Town Meeting for April 14, 2020 at 7:00 p.m. at the Maine Township Town Hall, 1700 Ballard Road in Park Ridge. Supervisor Morask moved its approval. The motion was seconded by Mr. Serbin and passed by a show of hands with voting cards.

Supervisor Morask presented Resolution 2019-3 to approve compensation for the Moderator in the amount of \$75.00. Supervisor Morask moved its approval. The motion was seconded by Mr. Serbin and it passed by a show of hands with voting cards.

Moderator Sayad stated that it was his pleasure to conduct the Maine Township Annual Town meeting and he would donate \$75 to the Maine Township Emergency Food Pantry. In addition, Moderator Sayad made a donation of \$5,000.00 from himself and the Des Plaines Community Foundation.

Moderator Sayad announced that the business of the meeting was now concluded and asked if there were any more comments.

Mr. John Barziditis, Park Ridge resident and the member of the Des Plaines Ballard Point Condominiums board thanked the Maine Township Board for their work for the community. He expressed his questions and remarks regarding flooding issues at the Ballard Point Condominiums. He encouraged the Township Board to take lead as government body in helping with this ongoing issue.

Mr. Serbin asked people to be proactive of their health issues and check themselves at the Lutheran Cancer Care Center.

Moderator Sayad stated that he was very impressed with the Maine Township staff and the Board. He thanked Maine Township Board for the outstanding services they provide to the Maine Township residents.

Moderator Sayad entertained a motion to adjourn the meeting and Mr. Serbin moved its approval. The motion was seconded by Mr. Dick Barton and passed on a voice vote. The meeting adjourned at 8:20 p.m.

Town Clerk	